Tags

, , , ,

Though most of my time is spent crafting novels and marketing materials, occasionally I do dabble in poetry. This piece was selected by the actor Rutger Hauer for his Soap Box Poets page some years ago, and still resides there…

Simple Pleasures

 

Ordinarily,

I would never

 

Hold rain-washed river rock

just to feel the cool smoothness

of edges dulled by merciless scrubbing,

 

Breathe frost laced fog vapor

just to see icy mist crystals

hanging in the sky melt from my warmth,

 

Follow wind swept maple leaves

just to watch them scatter randomly

in complicated dances across the road,

 

Stand rooted to the sidewalk

just to taste coffee essence, French roast,

served on the breeze outside a café,

 

Or smile at strangers rushing past me

just to acknowledge the hue and grain

they have added to the landscape of my day.

 

Ordinarily,

I would take the bus.

 

copyright 2008 Roberta Trahan, all rights reserved.

